Learning With Lucie Archive 2006-2013

May 7, 2006

M-Learning

Filed under: Education — Learning with Lucie @ 10:58 am

I’m on vacation this week, but I’m able to keep up to date with my online courses from Block Island because of my new Pocket PC. After a day on of bicycling around the island from beach to beach, I spent a a good part of the evening exploring my new toy and thinking about myself as a digital immigrant trying to come closer to understanding the world of mobile computing as many digital natives experience it. Probably the first clue to the fact that I was indeed an immigrant status was the fact that I had the manual open next to me. Intellectually I understand the concept of Going Nomadic that Bryan Alexander ((http://cet.middlebury.edu/bryan/) describes in his recent article http://www.educause.edu/pub/er/erm04/erm0451.asp?bhcp=1 , but I wanted to really “feel it”. And as I read about learning centers as a strategy for differentiated instruction in my online course, I suddently started thinking… about mobile computing and learning centers. I have indeed been able to turn the couch of this time share into a new learning space. I have brought a “learning center” with me. Technology has created new learning spaces. Alexander talks about how older spaces are taking on new pedagogical meaning (wireless café’s). Who would have ever thought of Starbucks as a learning center? Alexander decribes the learning centers that have emerged all as college students turn nomad carrying conversations and thinking across campus spaces. I think you could substitute the word School for the world Campus in Alexander’s writing and come away with lots of ideas of how a mobile computing could be used to create learning centers in schools. Web Cams, weather maps, satellite pictures, GPS units, sensors, probes, can all be at the heart of a learning center that is structured as an interactive learning activity. Students could receive streamed up to the minute data, or could also be providing data that updates a global data base. Alendar asks us to consider moving away from the word “wireless” because it implies a state of “absence” of wires instead of the “presence” of learning. I liked the word mobile learning or m-learning as a place where technology works with an educational purpose. He talks about the current generation as being quite comfortable functioning in a “device ecology”. Why not make these devices to create 21st century learning centers (Alexander, Bryan. Going Nomadic: Mobile Learning in Higher Education EDUCAUSE Review, vol. 39, no. 5 (September/October 2004): 28–35. (http://cet.middlebury.edu/bryan/)

Finally today I took a break from my studies to take a peer at what’s going on in Learning Times (a portal that I miss having the time to explore since I started taking these online courses), and lo and behold the first thing I come across is a discussion on mobile learning with very rich resources and lots of great post about the subject.  If you are a mobile learning subscriber, check out this thread (well worth the time to explore).  I’ll try to post some of these resources here in the near future.

TrackBack URI

